Women of Distinction 2019 Nominees Announced!

Quick escape link leading to Weather Network websiteQuick Escape Women of Distinction nominees 2019

Last night, industry leaders in the areas of art, science, business, health, academia, public service, sports and finance gathered at the Art Gallery of Hamilton to celebrate the Power of Women and the accomplishments of a fabulous group of women trailblazers.

We are so pleased to tell you that 73 incredible women and businesses have been nominated for the 2019 Women of Distinction Awards, all of whom were announced at yesterday’s Women of Distinction Nominee Reception.

Their accomplishments are stunning. And each nominee’s commitment to bettering the communities in which we live has truly helped to build Hamilton into the great city it is today.

The Women of Distinction Awards are nationally recognized as one of the most prestigious awards for women. YWCAs from across Canada join in the celebration each year, honouring the achievements of women across the country who have made an impact on their respective communities.

Recipients of YWCA Hamilton’s Women of Distinction Awards will be announced at the awards evening on Thursday, March 7, 2019 (during International Women’s Week) at the Hamilton Convention Centre by Carmen’s. YWCA Hamilton is pleased to welcome ArcelorMittal Dofasco as this year’s Presenting Sponsor.

Congratulations to the nominees in all 9 categories! Please join us in celebrating The Power of Women at the 2019 Women of Distinction Awards gala on March 7, 2019.

Young Woman of Distinction (18-25)

Cassidy Bereskin

Stephanie Bertolo

Maddie Brockbank

Natalie Fisher

Jasmina Powell

Vicky Verma

Arts | Culture | Design

Amber Aasman

Jessie Golem

Luz Marina Hernandez

Lisa Pijuan-Nomura

Nea Reid

Business Leadership | Entrepreneurship

Sangeeta Bahadur

Sara Graham

Dr. Rana Harb

Tammy Hwang

Jill  Johnson

Vanh Kalong

Judy Marsales

Angela Pappin

Josie Rudderham

Layne, The Auctionista

Nadine Ubl

Anne Waldes


Community Leadership

Anisa Ahmed

Jessica Compton

Gabriela Covaci

Marion Emo

Clare Freeman

Dr. Leanne Gosse

Monica Graves

Catherine Johnston

Dr. Charu Kaushic

Olivia Mancini

Alfredine Plourde

Lea Pollard

Dorothy Powell

Carolynn Reid

Wendy Schneider

Charlotte Szivak

Col. Marguerite Ward

Beth Webel

Education | Mentorship

Nana Bonsu

Kathryn Davies

Dixie Doxtador

Leah Hogan

Dr. Zobia Jawed

Pike Krpan

Andrea Leone-Bassindale

Marisa Mariella

Dr. Anna Moro

Helaine Ortmann

Dr. Janet Pritchard

Kelly Warne

Dr. Jean Wilson

Maureen Worron-Suave

Dr. Felicia Vulcu

Outstanding Workplace

ArcelorMittal Dofasco

Carmen’s Group


MERIT Brewing

Soroptimist International Hamilton Burlington

The Other Bird

Tracie’s Place


Louisa Drost

Cheryl Evans

Sheilah Laffan

Dr. Sandra Malpass

Dr. Amy Montour

Danielle Perkin

Science | Technology | Trades

Dr. Marie Elliot

Alyssia Jovellanos

Jamie McMillan

Dr. Sheila Singh

Lifetime Achievement

Anisa Ahmed

Marion Emo

Luz Marina Hernandez

Marisa Mariella

Judy Marsales

Helaine Ortmann

Lisa Pijuan-Nomura

Alfredine Plourde

Carolynn Reid

Col. Marguerite Ward

Dr. Jean Wilson

Maureen Worron-Suave

Contact to Listing Owner

Captcha Code